Bride - This Is It [CD]

  • Sale
  • Regular price $7.99

1. "Blow It Away" (4:29)
2. "To The Sky" (4:12)
3. "More Than Human" (3:53)
4. "Drop D" (3:34)
5. "Head Lookin' For a Bullet" (4:06)
6. "Best I Expect To Do" (3:23)
7. "Evil Geniuses" (4:38)
8. "Revolution" (4:46)
9. "Barren River Blues" (1:41)
10. "Microphone" (4:39)
11. "Short Time In The Grave" (3:47)
12. "Universe" (4:59)
13. "White Elephant" (4:22)
BONUS TRACKS ('06 Retrospective reissue)
14. "Blow It All Away" [demo] (4:57)
15. "Is This the Now" [demo] (5:21)
16. "Bring Me Down" [demo] (3:37)
17. "Burning Love" [demo] (3:57)

Yes, I know I said I would never buy another Bride CD. Frankly I was just tired of getting music that wasn't to my tastes and that strayed far away from what Bride became known for. Bride has taken alot of heat over the years for their constant changing of styles and following of trends. I kept giving them the benefit of the doubt as I kept hearing, "this next one will be a return to our roots." However, that didn't really happen and many fans, including myself, were disappointed. This time around Bride attempted a new strategy. While writing for and working on this CD the band began polling fans through their website and emails to find out what they wanted the new album to sound like. After that they posted sound samples and asked for fan interaction. Well, the result is "This Is It". This CD finds Bride returning to their roots of groove oriented hard rock similar to that of "Snakes In The Playground" and "Scarecrow Messiah." There is a hint of more modern tones and even some of the songwriting has a slight modern touch, but it works much better here mixed in with Bride's signature sound rather than them trying to create an entire new "modern" sound. Mostly, however, "This Is It" is just a high-energy, groove-laden, hard rock complete with the intense screams of lead singer Dale Thompson and some fine guitar work by brother Troy Thompson.

The disc kicks off with "Blow It All Away" a rockin' number with a slight Zeppelin vibe. This is how we like to hear Bride, loud 'n screaming. Dale's wail sounding as over-the-top as he did in the band's glory days. Other tracks sway into blues territories, which is something that Dale and Bride have been doing for years. Perhaps one of the best songs of the disc is "Head Lookin' for A Bullet." This song is just powerful! Another highlight is the ballad, "White Elephant," a song that sports a cello, played by Troy. Overall, the music here should not disappoint any long time Bride fan.

Lyrically Dale does a good job lifting the name of Jesus in most every song. His controversial "Universalism" beliefs aren't really apparent except for in a couple songs. In "Universe," for example he states, "Won't cast off forever, won't leave my soul in hell. Not maybe, not some, not a few. He above all, through all and in you all, Free gift came upon all men, Shall be saved yet so by fire, grace abounds, worm is dead. They shall see and understand." This song seems to sum up Dale's current belief that "ALL men will be saved, even as if by fire"'. Like wise in "Best I Expect to Do" he states, "Do you believe in torment? I'm the touchstone of your soul, I just can't believe in your hell anymore." The song "Evil Geniuses" is also of interest as Dale speaks directly to the critics of both his music and his beliefs in which he states, "I'm not a looser like you, a reviewer like you, a liar or a hypocrite like you, I'm not a frustrated beaten musician like you, I would rather be a Has Been than a Never Was." Pretty much Dale venting his frustrations in his critics face.

So, to sum up, I am glad Bride is back to doing what they do best, rocking hard. I am also grateful for lyrics that lift high the name of Jesus.