LIAR - Nothing But The Truth (CD) 2024 Remastered & Expanded NLTM Records

  • Sale
  • $13.99
  • Regular price $15.99



DATE: APRIL 11, 2024

NoLifeTilMetal Records has officially exclusively licensed the debut album ‘Nothing But The Truth’ by LIAR from Century Media Records.

Liar is a German Heavy Metal band formed in Dortmund in 1988. The band quickly began writing original music. They recorded and released their first 6-song demo, Nothing Is Impossible, in 1988. As a result of the demo, Liar became one of the earliest signings to the Century Media roster overseas, most notable because they were playing a fairly unique hybrid of power and thrash metal. Liar released a 7" single and their first full-length album, Nothing But The Truth on Century Media.

What made Liar so original was the unexpected clash of sounds and styles that went into their songwriting. The riffs were a mix of traditional power triplets and harsher thrash attitude with the chosen distortion falling firmly into the latter camp. Vocalist, 'The Duke,' had a distinct style which is often compared to Jon Oliva of Savatage or Chris Boltendahl of Grave Digger.

"(Nothing But the Truth is) a curious little oddity that will appeal to fans of the heavier progressive power/speed thrash metal bands of this period like, say, Mekong Delta or 80s Rage..." -Metal-Archives

Unfortunately, by 1989, heavy metal fans seemed to be split into two camps; one going for the glam/pop metal sound and the other steeped into thrash and the beginnings of death metal. As such, Liar's amazing debut was left mostly unnoticed. Liar forged ahead and independently recorded a second album Cheatin' Game in 1991 before calling it a day.

NoLifeTilMetal Records is bringing this hybrid progressive power/speed thrash metal album back to the fans. The original vinyl release had only 8 tracks, including a cover of the Sex Pistols' "Lonely Boy." The newly remastered CD and vinyl release includes two tracks left off the original, "I Don't Care" and "Hello, My Friend." The reissue includes the original cover art and graphics as well as photos, lyrics, and liner notes. The album was remastered by Rob Colwell at Bombworks Sound (Nevermore, Flotsam & Jetsam, King's X, Brainstorm).

Check out the track D.C.W. (Dirty Crazy World) and get ready for pre orders to go live this Friday morning for both limited edition CD and vinyl pressings. Releasing exclusively through NoLifeTilMetal Records on May 31, 2024